Modern cultures around the world have become similar when compared to the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is considered by some that inborn talent is the key to excel in sports, while there are others who thinks that it is important to work hard and practice regularly to achieve the same. However, while I believe that natural skill is beneficial to acquire success, determination and training is also necessary. With regard to natural flair, having good genes is never is never an unfortunate thing, but what one does with that is the bigger question. Certain sports require innate skills which cannot be gained through hard work or practice. For example, height is important for basketball players, muscle size and strength are critical for sprinting and running. On the other hand, perseverance and practice can shrink down the difference between the talented and talentless. Research has shown that children born with athletic skills tend to lose these skills if they discontinue the practice over time. Nonetheless, natural skill can be considered as fuel for the fire that will kick start one towards success, but without vigorous practice, things do not go the way one would expect to be. Although, in some cases, hard working individuals can develop a certain flair or skills. To sum up, hard work beats talent when talent does not work hard. In sports, to achieve success, there are certain qualities that can hold greater value than aptitude alone, which are desire, persistence and commitment. It is not impossible for a person with normal intelligence or athletic ability to learn to develop a certain attribute or accomplish an activity with sufficient and regular practice.