Entertainment such as electronic games on portal devices is harmful for individuals and the society they live in.

Games and other sources of joy have been popular as long as our civilization exists. While some games like chess or cards are known as highly intellectual, many games are considered a waste of concentration. Due to unlimited access to games on modern devices, their necessity remains a controversial issue. Personally, I believe that people can choose any entertainment they want, and particularly games cannot affect much and can be even extremely helpful in achieving goals. To begin with, people still need at least one way to relieve stress and games can appear as a not so damaging approach. For example, to be addicted to drinking or smoking can destroy health completely, while an effect of games is not so dramatic. As far as I know, the only argument against endless playing is that entertainment activities are time-consuming. In addition to this, a habit of playing games can influence only a player himself, making this way to relax harmless for other people. Secondly, many electronic activities can help with self-improving and their purpose is to educate. For example, when I studied French the last year, I used an application called 'Duolingo'. In a very playful manner, it taught me a plethora of French words. The whole structure of lessons made it similar to playing games, and they benefited me a lot by interactive teaching. Overall, different entertainment activities can be amazing partners in education. In conclusion, the progress in game development has a great potential to help both society and individuals. Disadvantages of playing can be considered controversial, and they can be viewed from a different prospective. One can only hope that this progress will continue in the future for everybody's sake.