English is becoming the most prominent language in the world. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having only one language in the world?

English is one of the widely spoken language in the world. As we know communication is the most important aspect in order to build cross culture relationships hence, having a common language has become a necessity. Having a universal lingo have many merits but as each coin has 2 sides so here in my essay I will be discussing about both. Nowadays, English is the only pre-requisites required in migration from one country to another. It has gained its importance all over the world and have lot of merits. Firstly, it has become an easier medium to socialize with people across borders. For instance we can see people moving to countries like France and Spain which has national language French and Spanish respectively are able to adapt with the country easily due to their English proficiency. Secondly, with promotion of globalization and cross trading of products, services, manpower & cultures, need of single language platform has taken vital role and English is playing that part very effectively. However, I would like to highlight the other side of the story too. English is the only language which is being considered as global language hence many countries like India are focusing more on imparting English knowledge rather than it's national language which is Hindi. People here are not aware of their own dialect and in turn losing the essence of their culture. Another demerit of having English as global language is that people with no knowledge of it are facing issues in settling up abroad or in working with foreign companies. They have knowledge but due to language barrier they are not able to showcase themselves. To conclude, I would like to say that we should promote all languages and take benefit of technology for purpose of understanding. Instead of changing ourselves, we should change the technology.