Some people think that GM crops are gaining popularity. What are the benefits and drawbacks.

Demand of food is growing the cause of population explosion. It is argued by some individuals that the use of genetic modified crops is not uncommon in present days. There are many merits of GM crops which overweigh its demerits. The main benefit behind the popularity of scientific modified crops is to fulfill the requirement of food demand of burgeoning population. Land is a limited source. Increasing the productivity of a field helps us to meet the increasing demand because food is our basic necessity and we cannot survive without it. So to tackle this problem these types of crops are introduced. If this type of ways will not be accepted to increase the productivity than half world would suffer from starvation. The second fruitful reason is that these types of crops are disease resistant. Because of its resistancy it protect plants from pest and insect. In ancient times most crops were damaged by some pests which highly affected plants and its productivity. So to increase yield and keep crops insect free genetically altered crops have become popular. Moreover, these types of crops can be grown in the areas which have unsuitable climatic condition. Because of invention of genetically modified crops we are able to grow crops in unsuitable areas like flood -prone areas drought- prone areas and also areas of high elevation. Despite this, scientific modified crops have some disadvantages. Firstly, these types of crops are unhealthy. Their nutrition level is low. By eating them we may face health ailments. Secondly, it has a bad impact on environment. Soil fertility is decreasing because of use of GM crops which leads to soil desertification. Overuse of fertilizers and pesticides results in degradation of soil fertility. In conclusion, I think GM crops have so many positives as compared to its demerits. Scientists should overlook on the disadvantages and should make them more healthier and effective.