English being the only spoken language in the world.

It is thought that English will become the sole language to be spoken worldwide because the development of tourism has led to it becoming the most prominent language in the world. There are benefits of having a single language used globally but there are also significant drawbacks of the same. Firstly, having to learn only one language to communicate with people around all over the world will save remarkable time and energy in learning new languages for conversation with people in different parts of the world. Since the language barrier between countries will be non existent, trades are most likely to prosper as there will be no communication gaps between two parties, thus leading to a more efficient understanding of the deals involved. A better understanding would be established with communities and tribes which will help people learn about how they have survived in particular regions and areas for decades under drastic conditions amongst other things. On the contrary, there are disadvantages to having a globalized language, a single language will in turn harm and destroy traditions and cultures that have been taking place in the world since centuries. If every practice and rituals are to be performed in english, they would lose their values for the people which will further lead to the eradication of such cultures, for eg, the festivals of lord Ram would mean less to the native people of India since the original texts are in Sanskrit and even if they were to be converted in English, some of the words will lose their meanings in translation. Another point in case being that during meetings and high level chairs, people will not be able to converse with their fellow countrymen in a language that only they understand, thus giving them a way to talk about decisions and advice in a secret manner which is not understandable by the other people in the room. In conclusion, there are numerous benefits of having a global language but it also brings with it certain drawbacks, while both of them are in different sectors and phases of lives, it is hard to say if one outweighs the other or now.