end of semester 1 tok essay

When we accept the information, we tend to understand and remember what we are more interested in also, each of us will understand differently even we learned the same content. Therefore, it means we are allowed to interpret the information personally. Personal interpretation is usual as each of us have different identities and thoughts. But, when we accept certain information, we need a specific room to interpret it. It is the same as cultural differences. There are over 190 countries so it means we will have at least over 190 different cultures. Cultural differences are fully related to personal interpretation as the culture influence the member of society. The room for personal interpretation and cultural differences lead to the knowledge questions: 1. To extent is room for personal interpretation and cultural differences involves in language and technology? 2. In what room can be established by language and technology? Thus, this essay will explore the room which for personal interpretation and cultural differences needed to be created and how it is different between two optional themes. Based on the concept of personal interpretation and cultural differences mentioned before, it is obvious that the language will involve in the room for it. The languages are the medium of communication and heavily influence members of the culture. Language allows people to interpret personally because it provides the room to interpret certain topics or things. For example, when we see objects such as cars, buildings, and people, we usually analyse the colours and how it shaped. When we think about something, we use certain languages such as ‘the car is red’ and ‘that building is so high’. Therefore, the languages provide the room to think and interpret personally. Language is also highly related to a room for cultural differences because sometimes the language determines the difference of cultures. For example, in Asia especially China, Japan and South Korea, there are so many corresponding cultural rules. 3 countries used to use the same language which is mandarin, and this is one of the reasons why they share many similar cultures. However, in modern days 3 countries have different languages and there are many different cultures than before. Therefore, the language makes the room for cultural differences. However, languages sometimes restrict personal interpretation such as some languages do not have words to explain something so people who use that language will have similar thoughts and interpretations. Although these days, each of countries has different cultures than other countries, they still have similar cultures. The similarities reveal between the countries which used to be one or dominated by others. So, we can acknowledge that languages restrict cultural differences and personal interpretation while they allow to have some different culture and interpret something personally. Technology is the one that does not provide room for personal interpretation and cultural differences. Technology enabled us to have access to massive knowledge so almost everyone can access the knowledge they want to know and learn. Therefore, it restricts the room for personal interpretation as the majority of people can share and get information, they want so it limits their own opinions and knowledge also thoughts. These days, people tend to rely on technologies so many experts are expecting that humans will not be able to survive without technology anymore. It means that technology is influential and essential to people, and we might think and state our own opinion without technology. The technology involves limiting room for cultural differences due to the massive usage of social media. For example, people post videos and content to social media to share with other users all around the world. It is hard to find those who do not have social media accounts. By sharing content, people can learn the cultures of other countries and the languages they have. Therefore, the technology collapses the wall of cultural differences. On the other hand, we may know that technology might boost personal interpretation. The information from the internet might encourage people to have developed their ideas and therefore it creates more room for personal interpretation. Despite the technology limiting the cultural differences, it can make a new culture. For instance, people who used to live in the 1800s didn’t have any chance to meet people from other countries and share the knowledge they have. And social media was created, and it became one sort of online culture right now. Therefore, technology can be considered as it limits personal interpretation and cultural differences, but it rather boosts up those. Overall, the language and technology do not create room for personal interpretation and technology. But those involves in helping to develop and enhance the personal interpretation and technology because, we cannot determine perfectly which is wrong and what is wrong. Nnevertheless the technology and language do not create room always and it is hard to find the solution to develop so we have lack of room for personal interpretation and cultural differences these days.