Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays various companies employ and adopt different recruitment policies, based on their needs and perceptions, often affecting the information they require the potential candidates to provide. In these terms, the personal information that they collect from the applicants may be limited or on contrary, extensive in accordance with company internal procedures. On one hand, apart from the professional details, the personal information may provide some insight about soft skills or other abilities of candidate. For example, a candidate who is playing chess during spare time would be strong in analytical and strategic planning terms, while someone heading the local football team shall presumably have organisational and leadership skills. At the same time, personal information could be misleading, as people have tendency mostly to show their good side during job applications and as such, information about hobbies and interests, being something not easily verifiable by employers, may prove to be subject of bigger manipulation by applicants. Lack of awareness by Employers about personal information as well have advantages and disadvantages. If we consider a simple example of marital status, this is the indicator of person’s side responsibilities which has a potential to affect his/her performance at job. However, on the positive side absence of this kind of info eliminates the bias that Employer may have on these personal features enabling him/her to focus on professional side of future employee. In summary, requirements of companies regarding personal information may vary and there is no right or wrong answer, as both options have pros and cons. However, in my opinion, the companies shall acknowledge that each personality is different and the only thing that shall matter during job interviews is candidate’s professional background and whether he/she has appropriate and suitable skills for the job he/she is considered for.