Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

It is undeniable that increasing number of companies are seeking more than the essential information about any employee before hiring. However, in many cases, these are only formalities and the employers are least bothered about this later on. Some individuals think that the data related to the leisure activities, food habits and marital status are extremely useful, while others hold the perception that it is unnecessary activity. I stand with the former ones. The reasons for my stance shall be discussed by me with some concrete examples. First and foremost, it is of paramount importance that not only employees, but also employers should live and operate in practical scenario. The deeper insights in any employee's life will help the employers take appropriats decisions in times of turmoil. For example, if a labour is facing financial crisis and five members are dependent on him, the situation could be brought into the light of higher authorities in case of unavoidable circumstances. Secondly, many multi-national companies are organising different functions from time to time. In that case, whether any employee can participate and perform on stage without any hesitation could be well understood by the host beforehand. As for instance, one of my former colleagues had earlier mentioned that he is good in playing piano as well as guitar. So, in an annual meet, he was directly invited onto the dais and an acoustic guitar was handed over to him to cheer up the gathered audience. Contrastingly, some agree that all these information is of no relevance and mere wastage of time and pages. According to one such study, the un-organized sector in any field constitutes about 70% of our country and having collected the personal information once, they tend to give least importance to the compiled data. Agglomerating my views, I reiterate that, although a section of individuals think that gathering any personal information is only a formality, the trend is now changing and more and more companies are actually utilizing this data for providing multiple benefits to the employees.