Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether thye are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is common for the human resources department of the company to ask for staff's personal details that is completely irrelevant to the job nature. Some may think it is not necessary, and others think it is compulsory. Personally, I agree with this practice and here are my opinions. Firstly, it is easy for the company to manage the workplace as well as the working hours especially for those who have to perform shift duties. Some companies which promote a parent-friendly working environment for those who have children. They even allow the staff to bring their children to the workplace. Furthermore, some may even allow their staff to work one or two hours later than the normal working hours so that parents could bring their children to school before working. It can therefore be argued that obtaining staff’s personal information can help the company to better the workplace. Secondly, social activities such as annual dinner or campaigns are essential for organisations’ culture. Getting to know their hobbies does help the personnel department organise the events. Not only does it provide an opportunity for colleagues to know each other, but also it provides a platform to strengthen the team power. As a result, advantages are far more than disadvantages. Eventually, some may be concerned that the company would disclose the staff’s personal privacy for her own interests. If that is the case, she would breach the labour law. Having some details about the staff does help the company to grow and perform better. Staff are more willing to contribute to the team, too.