Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Most of the emplyees get asked by the employer for some personal information such as their hobbies, interests, and whether they are married or not while the hiring process or during their emplyment time. A number of people find this inappropriate yet many say that it may be relevant and useful. In my opinion, it is completely fine as such information helps an organization either to organize events or to understand how an employee is doing in extra curricular activities. To commence with, some people feel insecure when they are requested to provide personal information stating about their marital status or interests. A group of people have a mentality of keeping their personal and professional life separate. Furthermore, they find request of such information as a risk to their privacy, and suspect that the information collected by an employer can be misused by any means. For example, hackers hacked into a database of a british IT company and the family information of the emplyees was compromised. On the other hand, Organizations ask for the information because they can get an idea about how the emplyee is doing in extra curricular activities. Firstly, information about marital status and a marital partner can be extremely helpful in case of an emergency. Secondly, asking for such information is very common and companies are in legal right to ask for it. Furthermore, the collection of information about interests and hobbies helps a firm to orgaize any events that can ensure recreational time to the emplyees. For instance, Caterpillar Inc, arrange plenty of recreational events during the summer time so workers can have a good time while meeting the work goals at the same time. It would be easier for Caterpillar to make the events happen if they have a rough idea about what activies are in emplyee’s interest. In conclusion, even though people are not in favor of handing over the personal information to the employer, I believe organizations can deal with events and emergencies better if they are given the personal information by the emplyees. Not to mention, the incidents of data hacking are decreasing as companies are getting better at protecting empyee’s data.