The Import of Food: A Boon or a Bane?

Nowadays, while most of the population favor the consumption of fruits and vegetables imported from different countries all over the world, some of them are of the opinion that the consumption of local produce will not only benefit the environment but also help achieve higher economic gains. This essay discusses whether the benefits of such transportation practices conclude to be beneficial over its drawbacks. To begin with, one can say in the current era, the import, as well as export of goods, services and also food items, has become completely feasible. Not only one can experience the taste of a particular cuisine made far off in a foreign country but also cherish the very global fruit or vegetable within reach. This imparts to the people the (knowledge of) cultural significances and differences in eating habits of the various populations around the world. For instance, as reported in an article published in the Times of India, dates imported from gulf countries exhibit higher disease-fighting antioxidants as compared to the local produce. Unfortunately, such transportation practices often lead to a lesser appreciation of the farm produce already available in the local markets. Since the majority of the local fruits and vegetables are ignored, the farmers feel demotivated and turn to alternative modes than farming to maintain a constant financial income. This doesn't often end well. Recent news reports of January 2021 indicate a higher suicidal rate of farmers as compared to the findings of 2020. This is due to the scarcity of rains and barren lands. In conclusion, one can only hope that while people cherish the global food available at hand, the appreciation directed towards the hard work of our farmers shouldn't come to a halt.