empathy in recitatif of toni morrison

Toni Morrison revolves around empathy. As Toni Morrison conveys the idea that people can only empathize with living and real human being but also they can empathize with abstract and fictional characters. As a matter of fact, the reader won empathize with Twyla and Roberta for multiple reasons. Firstly, they are being dumped in an orphanage, and secondly, before even being institutionalized, when they were with their mothers. For instance, Twyla had never had good nutrition on and Roberta lived with a mother who was mentally unstable. Moreover, Morrison invites us to empathize with all the children in Saint Bonny's for being orphans including the gar girls who faced sexual harassment from their uncles. Furthermore, the situation of Maggie raises empathy again. because she is suffering from a physical disability which was a reason behind the cruel treatment, and physical damage that Maggie was exposed to from the gar girls and from Twyla and Roberta. Additionally, another level of empathy appears. As even the characters inside the story empathize with each other. In the case of Twyla and Roberta with Maggie. Thus, empathy took a huge part in Morrison's "Recitatif".