ELT in South Korea English has been recognized in Korea

English has been recognized in Korea ever since the second National Education Curricula NEC (1969- 1974) by designing English as the first foreign language and the only foreign language to be taught in schools as a mandatory subject. The sixth NEC (1992-1997) introduced the methodology of communicative competence from grammatical competence. The content includes everyday expressions and support to produce students’ ideas and thoughts into English. The Seoul Asian Games (1986) and the Seoul Olympic Games (1988) makes the Koreans the importance of English. In 1994 English became an extra-curricular subject to teach from grade three. English is an elective courses in high schools. In tertiary level, English education was made by individual colleges and university and a mandatory subject for all fresher. Top ranking universities have imposed a minimum requirements of English proficiency tests such as TOEFL, TOEIC, TEPS before issuing a degree. Problems in implementing the official curriculum Goals and objectives of the seventh NEC are as follows: 1. Allow students to develop an interest in English and thus develop the ability to communicate in English. 2. Allow students to communicate naturally on everyday conversation topics 3. Allow students to understand a variety of information from foreign countries and enable them to make use of this information 4. Allow students to renew their understanding of the Korean culture through their understanding of foreign cultures and thus develop an appropriate view of the world. Parents are more interested in achieving higher scores as college admissions rather than obtaining the English proficiency level to communicate in English. So teachers are caught between the policy and demand of the students. The Roles of Private Sectors Although public schools started learning English from third grade, private schools taught English even before first grade. The demand of learning English is increasing even in the economic crisis in 1977; three hours a week costs $100 and $600 for a month. Internet based education websites are also growing. Parents spend a great deal for their children as they send them to better English institutes before the shift from primary level to secondary schools. Parents who can afford sent their children even abroad where English is speaking as native. Korean are never stop learning English because some companies are asking their employees’ proficiency of English. The 2002 world cup was held in South Korea and this make Koreans to aware the powerful of English language. As there are some suggest that English would be the second official language.