ELT in Singapore First language not native language.

Several different English language syllabus have been produced in the last forty years. English medium school and vernacular non-English medium schools in 1950s and 1960s English was taught and learnt for knowledge and technology transfer. In 1970s English is become a great demand and schools were shifted from vernacular to English medium based. Teaching method is still concerned to traditional methods such as dictation correction and grammar focused style. But some better schools started to touch literature of English. New education system began in 1980s which is combined the two system to one unit. Communicative Language approach came in to Singapore as the Regional Language Center (RELC) seminar decision (1884). Reading and English Acquisition Programme (REAP) and the Active Communicative Project were incorporated into 1991 syllabus and 2001 syllabus. English, not only school language but also the language of government, industry and commerce. But Singaporean use limited English which is regarded as Singlish. This affect the tertiary level students and research areas too. Rethinking ELT of Singapore Apart from REAP and ACT programmes, some teachers innovate their own materials since 1980s. The new style of English lessons according to Straits Times report (1988), • The teacher-as a manager, facilitator and motivator in the class- will introduce novel activities to help pupils learn. • There will be a greater variety of materials to stimulate the process of language learning. • There will be active participating by pupils in group discussions and presentation including role-play. • Lessons will be a sequence of activities in which listening to and reading English will eventually lead to discussion and written work. • The teacher will be concerned with not only what is written by pupils but also how it is written. • Pupils will be taught to write in Standard English. • There will be an emphasis on extensive reading. • Pupils will learn to put themselves into the role of a character from a book and to enter into the world of a novel, play or poem. Curriculum Development Institute of Singapore (CDIS) developed a set of new text books using a thematic approach, the Primary English Thematic Series (PETS) (the first set was published in 1992) for primary schools and the Course in Language and Using English (CLUE) (1993) for secondary schools. The books are in color versions and includes a variety of texts like poems, letters etc. “Thinking Schools, Learning Nation” initiative launched by the prime minister contributed to the new era of the education system which lead to creating and promoting a creative and critical thinking in 1997. But IT oriented workforce and population had been implementing for developing Singapore’s competitiveness in world economy since 1992. School ranking (of secondary schools and junior college) was also introduced in 1992 and has remained an annual exercise. This resulted the intensive competition among those schools to stand good rankings. ELT English was aimed to teach as first language level, but it just became a de facto syllabus. The phonics was not included in the syllabus. New teaching methods were always introduced but the system maintained the same eclecticism in methodology. In addition, new initiatives using like CD-ROM and IT for English and incorporating National education topics into the English lessons became more urgent and ate into the existing curriculum time for the language teaching. ICT in ELT class room Electronic books and other CD-ROM software for writing and reading under the Accelerating the Use of IT in Primary Schools Project (AITP) began since earlier 1990s Writing in computer benefited negative effected on language proficiencies of children. 2001 English syllabus 2001 English syllabus is a revolutionary approach because it focus in both literacy skills and communication skills instead of just learning language. Education the language teacher As English is medium of instructions, all teachers except who teach mother tongue languages are regarded as English teachers. National institute of education (NIE) offered training programmes for pre-service teachers but the demand of graduates in primary teaching is still needed. Almost 700 students are joining the Diploma in Education (D. Ed. ) in one academic year. Future of ELT in Singapore. Singaporean students are regarded as successful English learners as they master English well. They are able to score nearly the same above average in reading to the native speakers’ learners like New Zealand. The advent of IT, the internet and the booming e-learning markets provides yet another avenue for ELT.