ELT in Mongolia Official language – Mongolian

General education- preschool: up to 5 years. Primary levels: 5 years. Basic secondary: 4 years, upper secondary: 2 years Tertiary education: College: 4 years, University 4 years, Graduate: 1. 5-4 years English was introduced in 1990s in secondary and University levels. Russian was only foreign language taught in schools before 1990s (Although communicative approach is introduced, teachers used grammar translation method) In 1997(according to government (national) policy of teaching English as a foreign language) English is taught at all levels in Education. The policy is: • Attaining four skills • Gaining independent learning skills and taking overall responsibility for a learning process. • Developing awareness of environment, social development and culture in relation to the cultures and traditions of English-speaking countries and gaining appreciation of them. Communicative and student- centered approach for ELT is still needed because of traditional method. Communicative approach is used in secondary level and Teacher’s book is also provided. Teachers realized the new trend of CA. But some teachers still prefer grammar translation method. Teachers training programs (pre-service levels, in-service levels and graduate levels) are given to public and private institutions now.