Education is vital not just to the personal growth and development of an individual but also to the collective advancement of the country.

Education is vital not just to the personal growth and development of an individual but also to the collective advancement of the country. As a result, many argue that education at the primary and secondary levels should be acquired at no cost and a person's financial status should not be a determining factor. This essay agrees with this suggestion and reasons as to why is discussed. One obvious reason education should be free is because it exposes students to the acquisition of certain skills. Essential skills such as organisational, technical and managerial are crucial to securing a job, thus being a productive member of society. To illustrate, in 2020 the world bank compiled a list of the largest economies in the world and the lowest-ranked nations all have one thing in common; they do not free access to education to their populace. Therefore, it is paramount education is accessible at no cost for the betterment of the country. In addition to the point highlighted above, the level of income is not an indicator of academic or intellectual excellence. Students of poor financial means are at times outstanding in their academic pursuit, thus should not be deprived of adequate education. This is not only beneficial to the student but the country in the long term. A clear example is, a youngster who is priced out of education may be forced to go down the wrong path and engage in criminal activities. Due to this, more liabilities are created to the detriment of the country. To conclude, free education is essential to the production of a well-rounded and highly skilled workforce, hence improving the productivity of the nation and also discourages crime. Although, proponents against free education argues that it would lead to socialism and over-dependent on the government. However, the acquisition of certain skills and decrease in social vices as a result of free education outweigh the drawbacks.