Educating children is much harder today

Throughout history, education has played a prominent role in all societies. Due to its paramount importance academicians and policymakers have always tried to elevate the effectiveness of educational systems. A heated debate that recently has been raised is that whether teaching students is a more difficult task today because of their occupation by cell phones, games, and social networks or not. I strongly believe that these technologies have made teaching children more difficult. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two outstanding reasons. The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that these entertainments have caused children to be less focused on their responsibilities. Games, stories, and movies can make teenagers' minds more creative; if they limit the time of paying attention to these creations and try to get inspired by them. Conversely, if they can not manage and handle their time it is probable to get addicted to these technologies without having any positive feedback. Last year, my mother has been asked to participate in a parent meeting in my brother's school. The parents were informed that their children do not have enough concentration on lessons and topics and it prevents them to learn complex concepts. It seems that being entertained by games and social networks prohibits children from thinking in a straight way. Another equally important fact that deserves to be mentioned is that these new facilities have caused less interest in books and educational content for young students. They usually feel that online games and movies are parts of life that they choose to enjoy. In contrast, lessons and schools are the parts they are forced to do. In addition, they often have been investigated about their performance in schools; but no one blames them for losing in an online game. This procedure leads children to be passive audiences who are unable to learn and convey educational subjects. As another example, my teenage brother seriously follows movies and series. Although he has a lot of information about cinema he is not able to pass this data to anybody else. To wrap up, I contend that teaching educational content to children is very hard now; because they are so busy with their entertainment using their cell phones and playing online games. Lack of concentration and being passive audiences are two main consequences of using these pieces of equipment and these qualities hamper students to pay enough attention to lessons.