Detailed reporting of crime has bad effects. Consequently, such details should not be reported in the media.

Some people claimed that detailed crime reporting should be banned because its details bring detrimental impacts. In my opinion, I partly disagree with this viewpoint. Admittedly, it is true that comprehensive reporting on offences increase the crime incident rate. First, the violent details of the crime are likely to provoke people who are obsessed with violence and impulsive to commit crimes. Moreover, potential offenders can imitate the reported crimes according to detailed descriptions, especially before the criminal case is not solved. It is relatively easy for them to break the law with less suspicion of polices since they can confuse the crimes by just copying the modus operandi described which is already revealed in front of them. However, details of crime reporting should not be restricted as it could also protect people from crimes. The frightening details of the crime from the news improve awareness of the prevention of citizens. After the harmful consequences of victims are understood by people, such as the physical bruises on the body or financial loss, attention to the potential crimes of people will rise. Meanwhile, specific protection measures could be adopted if people know how criminals committed the crime. For example, people realize that they should not leave their drinks when they leave their chairs as news reported rapists put the drug in drinks. In conclusion, I think detailed reporting should be permitted and the media should report less violent details and provide more information about crime prevention for people after introducing details about crimes.