ededf349fr3df f0o4f0j-idew d

In the passage, ‘The Northern Lights’ by Margo Fallis, the writer has used several literary devices to describe the magnificence and exquisiteness of the Northern Lights in northern Scotland. The writer begins the passage with a short description of the Northern Lights: ‘During the autumn and winter months in the northern areas of the world, the sun…’ allowing the reader to know what a Northern Light or Aurora Borealis is. It permits the reader to comprehend the beauty and splendor of the Northern Lights. Again the writer has given a definite geographical location: ‘highlands of northern Scotland’, and ‘Southern England’ accompanied by a time period: ‘autumn and winter months’ contributing to the plot, character development, mood, and theme. It also affects the story by appealing to the reader and helps them to envisage the happenings and the environment in which the story is being narrated. Next, the writer has added many dialogues: ‘Cheerio, Mom. ’ ‘It’s freezing out there. ’ ‘What is that? ’ and so on for establishing the tone and atmosphere of a scene, enlightening the characters, and advancing the storyline. The dialogues provide information that the reader senses (often intuitively) about the affiliation between the characters, their temperaments, and their dispositions, etc. Apart from that, it gives specific data about the plot. The writer correspondingly applied personification in the writing: ‘lights that danced across the sky. ’ to connect the reader with the Northern Lights. Personification can make descriptions of the lights more vivid and can help readers understand and react emotionally to them. Similarly, the writer has used the rules of three: ‘magical, supernatural and amazing’ to provide concision and rhythm with the slightest quantity of material needed to create a pattern and appear experienced while remaining both manageable and appealing. The rule of three makes the narrative more likely for the reader to consume the information if it is written in three. Furthermore, the writer has operated emotive language in the text: ‘best nights of my life’, ‘a tear trickle down my cheek’, and so on to have a greater emotional influence on the reader. It influences the reader to share the writer’s viewpoint and kindle an emotional reaction. As the reader continues to read he or she will notice that the entire narrative has been written from the first-person point of view: ‘I grew up’, ‘We went’, ‘I don’t think’ and suchlike, which gives the reader a front-row seat to the story. It also gives the story credibility. The first-person point of view builds a connection with readers by sharing a personal story directly with them. Apart from all these the reader can clearly notice that the writer has used an informal tone: ‘outside with my pals’, ‘I’d always’, ‘I don’t think’ and so forth to make the writing more casual and spontaneous. It creates a bond between reader and writer that makes it easier for the reader to agree with the writer's point of view. Briefly, the writer wanted to let the readers have the same feeling, which he had while sighting the Northern Lights during his childhood, in which he was fruitful owing to the practice of innumerable literary devices like dialogues, personification, first person point of view and suchlike.