Offenders Commit Crime; Why and What To Do?

The issue about criminals that continue to create more problems after finishing their first jail time is partly a question in terms of the psychology of crime. This essay will talk about why does this problem happen and what can be done to put an end to it. Firstly, there are many reasons. For one, the effect of understanding a situation develops the human mind to get used to it, which is why another attempt at doing something wrong does not seem to be so intimidating. Jail, a place where society tries to avoid, is a chance to redeem for unpleasant doings. Meanwhile, offenders tend to use that opportunity to get comfortable with the surroundings while planning another scheme. For example, stealing a large amount of money can result in years of jail time. Criminals will use the time in jail to understand the system, figure out their next plan and attempt to do a better job another time they commit wrongdoing. This benefits them in numerous ways. The other reason is the rise of confidence after knowing what to do and what will happen. After a couple of tries by several offenders, then comes the question: is anyone doing anything to stop this? According to Michigan’s police department in 2018, one of the ways to end this problem is by adding more hours to those who commit a crime or giving a heavier sentence. This simple solution has helped tremendously, as a huge amount of time, effort and resources have been used. Overall, although though cases like this could create an even more dangerous world to live in, I believe that issues can be tackled with the right resources.