Economic growth should be the most important factor to evaluate a country's success. Do you agree

It is true that economic growth is an essential factor in assessing development across nations. While many people consider economic prosperity the most critical element which contributes to a country’s progress, I only partly agree with this point of view. On the one hand, national wealth depends, to an extent, upon the increase in the economy. Firstly, outstanding economic achievements help strengthen the state's position in the international arena. The United States of America, for instance, is considered the worldwide leading superpower thanks to its surpassing industry and commerce. Secondly, economic development helps governments earn more money to invest in other areas. To illustrate, Qatar has seriously invested in national education with the oil revenues with a view to training a proficient workforce to enrich the country in the future. On the other hand, the country’s progress is also determined by many other factors. In terms of education, civilians’ intellectual level contributes a significant part to the success of a nation. It is apparent that in several countries with high educational attainment rates, the workforce is also high-quality and skilled. For example, Finland, which is considered the world's best education system, has an excellent domestic labor pool. As a result, this country gradually asserts its firm foothold in the region and the world. Moreover, a unique culture imbued with identity also plays an important role in national development. China is a prime example of this. Not only does this country have a strong economy, but with a unique culture, China has also significantly promoted its tourism potential. In conclusion, economic prosperity contributes a lot to the country’s success, however, I believe that it is not the most crucial factor to evaluate development across nations.