Economic development of London

ECONOMICS Along with New York City and Tokyo, London is one of the three command centers for the world economy. The largest industry in London is finance, but professional services, media such as the BBC and tourism are also major industries in the city. After Paris, London is the second most visited city in the world and attracted more than 30 million international visitors in 2017. International trade & investment Our International Trade and Investment team analyse international trade and FDI flows and their interaction with different areas of trade policy, with a focus on customs arrangements and trade barriers. Recent projects have examined the impacts of trade and investment on the economy including the regional impacts of agricultural trade policy and analysis of policies that support exporting businesses, focussing on SMEs. The team uses cutting edge econometric modelling, as well as qualitative analysis tools such as literature reviews and case studies. Data & technology Advances in technology are a key source of economic growth and dynamism. London Economics’ work in this area covers AI, Robotics and Autonomous Systems, Industry 4. 0, the Internet of Things (IoT), High-Performance Computing, Nuclear Fusion and Advanced Materials, amongst others. Data technologies and data markets represent another important area of focus, including the economics of data protection, international trade in data, data sharing between organisations, and data institutions. Our expertise in this area is underpinned by our practical know-how in advanced analytics and AI and our understanding of the economics of innovation and competition in dynamic technology markets. A few large corporations located in London: IBM, DIGITAL EXTREMES, InfoTech, StarTech. com, Diebold Nixdorf, NORHERN Entrepreneurship & SMEs SMEs make a major contribution to economic growth and employment, accounting for more than 99% of all enterprises in Europe. The London Economics SME team has extensive experience of providing evidence-based advice to private and public clients on SME issues, policies and programs, including their effectiveness and efficiency. Life quality The UK-based consulting firm ECA International conducted a study and named the most expensive cities to live in. And London is in the top 10. London is one of the places with the most net worth of people in the world. There are more and more rich people here. London has always been at the forefront of social development and lifestyle. The consumption level of the upper class is increasing sharply. Londoners are "savvy and discerning". Their high life is reflected in their consumption of food, fashion, housing, transportation, etc.