What characteristics should a customer service staff have and why?

Working in a customer service department is quite demanding and stressful. An employee has to keep an appropriate balance between meeting all the customer’s needs and making profit for the company as huge as possible. To handle this, it is essential that a customer service employee have several following characteristics. The first one is effective communication skills. The basic nature of this job always demands effective communication skills. Having good communication skills will show that you understand what the customer is saying, finding. And then, you can solve problems of the customer. According to many surveys, the most decisive factor to make a successful phone call is communication factor. Beside problem-solving skill is also needed. Effective problem-solving skill typically helps an agent to develop the ability to evaluate the problem and then give the customer possible solutions. An agent’s ability to act immediately can be enhanced with increased autonomy on the job. Last but not least, it is emotional stability. A good agent must be able to keep him or her emotions under control, whether he or she are dealing with a friendly caller or someone that becomes furious. An agent must learn that by remaining calm, he or she can turn it around by providing an acceptable solution that makes the caller feel happy. An angry response from an agent is unacceptable and will worsen the situation. To conclude, generally, customer service work may be taxing for people to become a customer service staff. But if they have these characteristics, this job will be no longer their matter.