Economic development is the only way to get rid of hunger and poverty. Some think it is necessary, while others consider it harmful to environment.

Advancements are taking place everywhere be it education, transportation or communication and people are divided on the issue that whether economic development is a good way to uproot poverty and starvation or it is highly detrimental for environment. This essay shall discuss both the views. On the one hand, there are various positive outcomes of betterment in economy and first and foremost consequence is reduction in starvation and making people self sufficient. When economy starts to grow by means of GDP growth, it gives wide opportunities to poor sections by providing subsidies to them and making wide variety of alternatives available to them. Due to this, poorer sections can get benefit of these subsidies and owing to this, they can have enough to survive. On the other hand, there are negative aspects of this development. Firstly, it gives way to modification in production method of industries, which are only way to earn money for most of the needy people. But, band install machines instead of liver it releases large amount of toxic gases and chemicals. Due to this, nearby people often suffer from various diseases that are fatal in nature. Owing to this, breathing problems often appears to those individuals and it claims lives of people. Moreover, it is highly damaging for our surrounding in terms of polluted air, water and so on. The burgeoning pollutants are major drawback with proves economic growth worse and harmful. To conclude, although economic development is fruitful for poor and needy sections, it is detrimental to environment