eading run scorer in Cricket is an alumini from an college of our state. The reason was that, there was sufficient facilities and funding for the sports department of that university due to which the students from that college could get proper training in

College life is considered as one of the most important phase for any young adult and is the period which develops children to do something big in their life. In college many students are inclined towards study whereas many have interest in sports as well. In my opinion, it is important that college provide equal funding for the sports and social service just as they do to classes and libraries. First of all, sports can help in recognising the university in a national level. Each year, there are so many state level competitions which are held for the sports such that all the colleges participate in it. Thus, if the university has spent good amount of money in the training of the students for the sports, it is most likely that their team will be perform well in the competition. I can recall an example of my university from last interstate football competition. In our university, sports was not supported as the studies and research was, due to which our football team barely made into the first round of the playoffs and were very easily defeated by the opposition team in the quarter finals. It was clear from the performance of the team, that they lacked training and also the basic training equipments. Secondly, there are many students in the university who are more inclined towards sports and social activities than study. After joining the college, many students realise that the course they have taken to study is not suitable for them, due to which they tend to shift towards other activities such as sports. It is undeniable that within a college, there might be a student who possesses the talent to become one of the famous athletes in the world. For instance, David Miller, who is the leading run scorer in Cricket is an alumini from an college of our state. The reason was that, there was sufficient facilities and funding for the sports department of that university due to which the students from that college could get proper training in the sports. Finally, the presence of sports and other cultural activities makes college life entertaining. It is inevitable that, if a university has proclivity only towards only education and research, most of the students in that university will be bored of their college as they will have too monotonous life in the university. For example, the high school where I studied was only focused towards education and studies, due to which many of the students in the school lacked interest even in coming to the school. It could be seen that half of the students from a class were mostly absent because they wanted to have some entertainment in their life which they were not able to get through the school. In the end, this lead to the poor performance of the students in their studies and the reputation of the school was also harmed. In conclusion, I feel that, treating sports and social activities same like education and providing them the funds required for its full development will be beneficial for both the university and the students. Many people might disagree with this statement by saying that the main objective of a university is to teach the students and other extracurricular activities can cause distraction to the students. However, I feel that, if the education and sports are provided in a balanced manner, then the students will not be distracted from these and will eventually enjoy their college life.