Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Every year an increasing crime incidence is being evident. This essay will discuss two root causes for this which are shortage of jobs available and drug addiction and suggest measures to address these issues such as providing more jobs for people and legislations against narcotic intake. To begin with, offences are usually committed by people who have no decent job or are under the influence of narcotics. This is because these people are likely to experience a shortage of money and to be pushed to get it by illegal activities. Also, they might abuse drugs which may increase the possibility of breaking the law. For instance, a single mother with seven children cannot provide financing for education for every child and, as a consequence, they cannot find a high-paying job and may commit an offence. Thus, lack of jobs among such people and higher possibility of narcotic consuming might lead to increased crime rates. Nevertheless, the solutions for this could be allocated jobs for such people and laws against drug intake. If a person with no education has a stable job with means for living, it would decrease the likelihood of him breaking the law. Additionally, adopting effective legislations against drug distribution might prevent these people to commit a drug-induced crime. To illustrate, policies of providing jobs have been implemented in many cities in the USA which has led to reduction of illegal activities. Therefore, these solutions could contribute to one's social mobility and cut down drug addiction. To conclude, two main reasons for increasing crime rates are lack of stable jobs and high addiction to drugs among lower social strata. Although, it might be tackled by allocating jobs for these people and enforcing laws against drug abuse.