“ Each university should carry out its own entrance examination. ”

Because of the complicate developments of the Covid-19, millions of students have to be kept in quarantine and not allowed to go outside. Therefore, the Ministry of Education and Training had to postpone the end of the school year and especially the national final exam. At this time, many issues related to teaching and learning are given by experts who need to calculate to make appropriate changes. And one of those is that universities should have their own entrance examination. While there are some advantages in this statement, I do not believe that this is a good change. On the one hand, each university has its own standard and different ways of training. Therefore, if the Ministry of Education and Training remove the floor mark scheme, universities can become more independent in enrolling students. They can take the initiative to set their own standardized exam and have appropriate enrollment methods. By this way, colleges can choose suitable and capable students that can study and research in their school and the quality of students will be more equal. However, on the other hand, there are a host of drawbacks that this change brings about. First of all, it will be extremely hard for students if they want to apply many universities. They will have to prepare for many different entrance examinations run by each college, which may affect the quality of their results and they may even end up missing out on a university place altogether. Moreover, the “virtual” candidates who registered without but not take the exam will appear and cause the waste of financial for universities. There were so many colleges that hired thousands of places for thousands of candidates to sit the exam but the whole examination room was sporadic with only 1 or 2 candidates. Another cited drawback is that if each college carry out its own entrance examination, they may almost forget that their main task is teaching and researching. Instead, they just focus on enrollment. Teachers just care for exam preparation, and schools try to set difficult and unique exam questions to induce candidates to join their exam preparation centres. Candidates who want to pass the entrance exam of the college that they want to get in must find and study from that school teacher, which is extremely negative. In conclusion, although there are some benefits if the government let each college carry out its own entrance examination, I do not agree with this statement.