Due to the rise of the COVID-19 across the world, people have started to do social isolation. What are the Pros and Cons of this action?

Owing to the spread of COVID-19 across the globe, people’s lifestyles have been affected significantly. More specifically, many have resorted to confinement and isolating themselves from the outside world. From my perspective, this trend has its own merits, which will be outlined below along with some of its disadvantages. By staying indoors, people are able to enjoy both social and personal benefits. Firstly, the spread of the disease can be prevented thanks to the reduction of outdoor gatherings. In other words, as the vast majority are conscientious enough to follow lockdown restrictions and stay indoors, social activities that involve mass gatherings can be greatly reduced in number, which contributes to declining number of infected cases and lessening the severity of the epidemic. Moreover, people are likely to be more attentive to maintaining healthy lifestyles during their time indoors. For instance, some people whose jobs involve mobility and travelling around all day might benefit from spending more time in solitude, as it gives them the opportunity to improve their well-being and take up light indoor exercises or follow a particular diet. However, isolation also has numerous drawbacks for many individuals, as well as for the entire society. The first of these disadvantages is that people have become so attuned to their lives in confinement that many might feel reluctant to go outside after the pandemic. According to a recent article, many Britons are finding the idea of returning to the office, taking crowded transport or going out with friends overwhelming, or even terrifying after such a prolonged exposure to all four corners of their houses. Education is another aspect that has been negatively affected by the mandatory isolation among students. Take online classes as an illustration for this, although they are the most practical substitute for going to school, there still exists numerous issues concerning the participation and cooperation of students, as monitoring students can be hindered by them turning off their cameras and microphones during classes. Finally, segregation poses a direct challenge for many countries to sustain economic growth. To be more specific, because many people are obliged to avoid going outside as much as possible, their duties at work might not be fulfilled as expected. What is more, many have become unemployed during this time, which downsizes workforces, and further threatens their countries’ stable economy. Based on what has been discussed, I am inclined to believe that even though isolation can be beneficial by lessening the seriousness of the epidemic and helping people pay more attention to their health, isolation also leads to consequences involving people’s social lives, education, and the prosperity of countries. To minimize the drawbacks as much as possible, people should learn to made adjustments and show flexibility in dealing with the current situation, as well as conforming to safety procedures and regulations to help diminish the pandemic’s formidable impacts.