Due to the rapid development and expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities.

I believe that even though the upsurge of supermarkets will question the existence of small and regional businesses, they can still find their place in the market. Firstly, the essay will discuss the most probable threats caused by the development of supermarkets to the small shops and secondly, I will explain how the local communities can still survive in this competition. A supermarket is a place where wide range of products and services are available under the same roof. For the same reason, they become a better choice for any customer in any country. These large shopping centres can give a better shopping experience, accommodate products from different brands and enlighten the customers with attractive plans and discounts. One can easily save time and money by doing a monthly purchase from supermarkets. In this scenario, the local businesses will surely suffer and they are limited by space and money. However the decline in sales in regional enterprises will not lead to the extinction of local communities. Firstly, they can still find their market in other states and countries. Most of the regionally made products are exported. Thus it is an inevitable part of any countries’ economy. So they governments will surely try to protect the local societies and their products. Secondly, there are many supermarkets which have dedicated one corner to the regional products. They have taken it up as a part of their corporate social responsibility. To conclude, the rivalry between regional shops and supermarkets or the closure of them, will never threaten the existence of local communities.