Are famous people treated unfairly by the media? Should they be given more privacy, or is the price of their fame an invasion into their private life?

There is a price to pay for everything in life and being notable is not different. As it is often said, there is no such thing as a free lunch. With the perks of becoming a notable personality comes the added nuisance of loss of private space. Primarily, the culprits behind the problem of invasiveness, especially for the who's who of the world, are the paparazzi of newspapers and television channels. It can be argued that such instances of overenthusiastic monitoring are indeed a high price to pay. Most of the times, this exposure is welcomed by these high network personalities as it gives them an avenue to express their opinion and display their lifestyle to the world. However, when overdone, it causes significant damage to their personal lives and relationships. We have seen many disastrous examples of such interference of media in the lives of famous personalities, the last one still etched in our memories being the chase and accident of Princess Diana. Research published on this topic indicated that constant surveillance of individuals results in approximately a 30% increase in risk for them to suffer from depression. This can lead to suicidal tendencies later on in life if the depressional state is not corrected. It also makes people prone to get involved in accidents and risks. It has become a major topic of discussion and debate in the civilised society to realise the problem and come up with solutions. However, unless the government acts on the offenders involved, it will be difficult to reign in the reporters who cross the line. To conclude, the cost of fame although very significant, is not looked at as a detrimental factor when people decide to open themselves up for the attention of the world. Although unfair, the people who make this choice are well aware of the risk & still decide to consciously live with it.