Due to developments in technology, government authorities now have the ability to track the private communications of individuals, Discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this development and give your own opinion.

These days, there is widespread concern in our society over the issue of whether the ability to monitor human activity through technology is more advantageous than disadvantageous. This essay will show that the minor drawback of the invasion of privacy is of only small significance when compared to the grater merits of both a safer world and less anxious citizens. There are those who are short sighted enough to be under the false impression that governments have an evil scheme to spy on every citizen in the country. While this may be a true statement for a small pocket of the population, to claim that this is true for everyone is simple paranoia. The more valid view would be that such technological breakthroughs have led to a safer world. A classic example of this is the Australian government's use of communication technology to monitor the activity of terrorist cells. Ostensibly, hundreds upon hundreds of terrorists have been caught through the use of such technology. Last of all it has to be recognized how people are now less anxious due in large part to the security they feel from technology developments in security devices. In the past, people often were worried when they would go outside or even travel to work. This is in contrast to the situation today as people are less stressed as result of the watchful eye of government policing agencies. In conclusion, even though it cannot be denied that there is a definite drawback in the possibility of national authorities invading everyone's personal privacy, the benefits far surpass the drawbacks. In particular, people are not only protected against terrorists but also less anxious because of security concerns