Due to development and rapid expansion in some countries, many small business are unable to compete. Some people thinks closure of local business will bring about death to local communities.

Over the years, evolvement and growth of shopping malls has results to retreat of petty trade in some districts. It is believed by certain people that the shutdown of these small firms will lead to extinction of the local suburbs. While establishment of supermarkets negatively affect the sales of small firms, I somewhat disagree it would fazed out the locality because shopping malls provide job opportunities for the inhabitants, also huge tax is being paid to develop the welfare of the community. To begin, it is noteworthy that small scale business plays a vital role in the development of the community. The increase trend of shopping mall has significantly reduce the patronage of local stores by customers, thereby reducing revenues generated by these petty traders. To elucidate, these companies acquire goods at lower prices from the manufacturers and sell to the consumers at cheaper rates. This ultimately renders the small scale market redundant because the consumers prefers to trade at low prices. Therefore, the local enterprise are incapacitated to contribute to the development of the community due to low income. Nevertheless, the set up of a shopping venture provides more job opportunities to the occupant of the community. A large scale business requires high level of workmanship compared to small scale business. A research work carried out in 2018 by Oyo state group of business owners revealed that shopping outlets creates about 10, 000 job opportunities yearly within the metropolis. Futhermore, these stores are charged with huge tax, this high level are used for development of the district. To sum up, the increase trend of supermarkets is negatively affecting the thrive of small scale business. I partially disagree that this development will lead to the extinction of local communities because large scale business contributes to the growth of the community by providing job opportunities and paying huge tax which is used for the development of the community welfare.