Drawbacks of the internet

“The Cons of Using the Internet” Nowadays, the internet is a crucial way to communicate with other people. With the advancement of the internet, keeping in touch with our loved ones all around the globe makes it more convenient and economical. Without a doubt that it makes massive impacts in different fields such as in business, education, technology and so on. In spite of its remarkable significance to humanity and into the world as a whole, it is inevitable to think and bear in mind that there are some risks and disadvantages that must be taken into account for and must be dealt with earnestly. In this essay, I would like to put emphasis on the three major drawbacks of using the internet. First of all, due to the fact that interacting with people has become more virtual, hugely affect negatively on the socialization skills particularly to our youths. We usually communicate with others based on several pieces of information. However, in case of the internet, there would be some insufficiency of information because it is simplified to communicate easily. If we get used to communicate by using the internet, it may cause some trouble with communication in the real world. For instance, some relationships may be torn apart due to the lack of face to face interaction and physical connection with their dear ones. Second, it can arise many kinds of cybercrimes. Recently, the number of crimes using the internet has been increasing. For example, we can purchase something easily online from various options with the comfort of our zones. Then we probably select the one comparing the prices. However, it is dangerous because we cannot verify accurately the seller of the product and other essential specifications about it. In the internet, common and accurate procedure doesn’t work. Thus, it is easy to make someone believes the wrong thing and it promotes crimes like fraud. As a result, we would encounter such crime many times because of the internet and the sad reality is that it is rampant nowadays yet we users can’t refrain ourselves from taking advantage of the internet. Third, it may influence our decision in certain things that we expected. For example, it is said that media manipulation through the internet has caused the assumption of some politicians during the election. For example, in the Philippines, those who have big names in the show business industry who even are ignorant about politics run for office have more chances to be voted than those commoner yet well-versed candidates due to their huge popularity on social media. While this suspicion has not been proved, it implies a possibility to control our decision by the internet. In other words, the internet has massive influence to the real world. If we don’t pay close attention for this, we wouldn’t be able to obtain what we really desire in the real world. In a nutshell, it is undeniable that the advent and advancement of the internet has massively transformed our ways of lives in more positive ways. Nevertheless, we must be responsible and well-informed regarding the possible risks and the negative impacts caused by it. By doing these, we can spread awareness to others and work hand in hand and in as much as possible, we can minimize these possible risks.