Drama games and activities.

The concept of English teaching approach to drama for kids is quite simple: Take one familiar game or activity, the topic from a unit kids are currently studying, and turn it into a drama lesson! With that in mind, here are eight drama activities for kids you can add to your repertoire straight away. One Word Story Create a whole-class story in this imaginative drama activity that is for practicing individual and group focus. Students sit or stand in a circle. Establish who will begin the story and which direction the story will travel (clockwise or anti-clockwise). The first person begins the story by saying a single word, e. g. “There. ” Whoever is next in the circle says another single word that makes sense following the previous word, e. g. “was. ” Continue around the circle, with each person saying a single word with the aim of building a coherent story. When using this as a general drama activity, you could use one of the Teach Starter widgets as a prompt for the story. The Vocabulary Word of the Day spinner has dozens of word lists you could draw from, the Visual Writing Prompts Widget provide perfect One Word Story stimulus, and the Random Sentence Starter spinner is a really fun way to kick-start your students’ imagination! Layer in Context: Connect this drama activity to content from a unit, text, or topic your students are currently studying. Establish with the class a few broad “key features” the whole class story needs to have. For example, if students are exploring food and nutrition in a health unit, you could agree upon the following aspects of the story: Drama.