Air pollution factors in Alborz Province

When the density of harmful gases in the air which affects humans and other animals' lives negatively, goes up, it’s called air pollution. This phenomenon is an important environmental problem in Alborz province. Alborz province is suffering heavy air pollution due to transportations, industrial units, and changing the use of gardens and agricultural fields. One of the main factors among the three prominent factors of the Alborz air pollution is transportation. Transportation has an important role in the development of the social and economic welfare of any country, due to its scope of operation, it is one of the major sectors of energy consumption in the country. The most important pollution in the energy sector is caused by the combustion of fossil fuels. According to the statistics of the road administration and the Police, more than one million and 300 thousand vehicles travel daily in the suburban and inner-city of Alborz province. Alborz connects 15 provinces of the country and accounts for 20% of the country's suburban traffic, which affects air pollution in the province. The next factor is the industrial units. Currently, Alborz is known as one of the industrial provinces of the country, which has many economical benefits but also has negative impacts on the air index. The activities of unlicensed industrial units also produce pollution. Currently, according to the latest estimates, more than 3, 000 unlicensed industrial and production units are active in Alborz which due to lack of Receiving a license, there is no control over the level of pollution of these units. The third and last factor of the pollution of Alborz is the change of use of gardens and agricultural fields. The city of Karaj in previous years was known as a green city that has a very pleasant and clean climate. Karaj has always been referred to as the lungs of Alborz and Tehran province. However, nowadays there are not many signs of good weather in this city. In recent decades, we have witnessed changes in the use of orchards and agricultural fields, including apple orchards in Karaj. The expansion of urbanization and migration to this city due to the proximity to the capital and better job opportunities have had a direct impact on the change of use of these fields as well as the climate and ultimately the air index. To summarize, air pollutants cause serious damage to the health of citizens and animals, as well as create a destructive environment. Alborz province has suffered from severe air pollution due to transportation due to its proximity to the capital, the removal, and destruction of gardens for road construction, and in the end industrialization.