Can air pollution cause premature aging of the skin?

Increased air pollution over the years has had major effects on human skin. One of the most important factors damaging the skin after ultraviolet rays is air pollution. About 80% of skin aging depends on environmental factors such as sunlight and air pollution, and 20% is related to aging and genetic factors. Polluted air contains hydrocarbon particles, sulfur and suspended particles that irritate the respiratory mucosa and skin, and because the scalp, face and hands are in direct contact with the air, they are more damaged than other parts of the body. Air pollution contains microscopic contaminants, called polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs), which help produce Reactive Oxygen Species (ROS), or "free radicals. " These strip the skin of barrier lipids, which help retain moisture and keep out dirt and other impurities. A compromised skin barrier can lead to increased skin sensitivity, discomfort and premature signs of skin aging, especially pigmentation issues. Small air pollution to enter skin, they can accelerate brown spots, fine lines and wrinkles. To prevent air pollution damage to the skin, cleansing should be done. Also use toners and lubricants with anti-pollution capability. in conclusion, becarefull with your skin, pollution weakens your skin. Antioxidants, along with peptides and vitamins, help strengthen the skin and neutralize the primary triggers of skin aging.