Does the benefits of advertisement outweigh its drawback? Discuss both views and give your opinion

Advertisements have a huge impact on the subconscious mind of humans. Some people feel that the benefits of advertisement outweigh its drawbacks. Others refute it. In my opinion, advertisement has both, benefits and drawbacks. It is truly said that what we see through our eyes, feeds our soul. Advertisement has opened those doors for the normal public which we could have never imagined. People can choose from a wide range of options which are shown via advertisement. From the food we eat to the clothes we wear to the material required to build a house, everything is being advertised today. Renowned entrepreneurs throw a large amount of money just to attract the audience to their products. Some advertisements can deliver messages related to our social and political problems. It helps in making people aware of their surroundings. Especially, in an ongoing unprecedented time like COVID-19, advertisements have proven to be a blessing in disguise as these have helped in spreading public awareness about this deadly disease. In recent times, it has also helped in flourishing and spreading small-scale local businesses. But, on the other side, advertisement has drawbacks too. Children these days are easily influenced by watching their favorite celebrities endorsing an unhealthy lifestyle. As a result of which, the children tend to follow them. For example, if their favorite celebrity advertises about drinking high-calorie drinks, the children will follow him blindly without knowing the repercussions. For the products associated with healthcare and beauty, it has become easy to fool the viewers by showing only the brighter side of products, and by not showing the damage they could cause to our health. However, every problem comes with the seeds of a solution within it. Advertisements should be controlled and regulated by the governments so that they cannot be misused by the ones who sponsor them. Additionally, strict rules and regulations should be followed to mention the harmful and side effects of all the health care and food-related products on their product leaflets. The advertisements which contain sensitive content should be censored and should be prohibited for children, this could happen if there would be a “trigger warning” before running such kind of advertisements on television. To conclude, it can be said that advertisements have proven to be a blessing in the age of globalization. Its drawbacks could also be taken care of if the content of the advertisement is filtered and cautiously dealt with.