In order to solve the traffic problem, we need to make more roads. What’s your opinion?

Traffic congestion in many cities around the world has become a severe and worsening problem. Some individuals claim by building more roads, the difficulties of transportation will be reduced. I believe that pricing roads, providing high quality public transit systems and heightening fuel costs, beside developing roads, would be helpful in the managing this progress. Getting stuck in a traffic jam has been an annoying dilemma since many years ago. Some advocate that developing roads can solve this problem but, on one hand, the number of solitary car drivers is on the rise and on the other hand, the suitable areas for building new roads are limited. Also, the air pollution increasingly rises if the number of cars increase. Therefore, many systematic and scientific studies are required to find out the causes and solutions of the problem in any country, developed or not. One of the solutions could be pricing the roads- consists of levying a fee to circulate in or enter specific areas or streets during times when there is congestion there. Another way is heightening fuel prices to prevent solitary cars drivers commuting. Both raising in fuel and road prices might be annoying to most of private car drivers; so they will resort to using the public transit system. Other alternative way of using private cars is providing high quality public transportation system. Equipped buses and subway systems could be a solution to control traffic, especially in mega cities. The cheapness, cleanliness, convenience and accessibility are the features required to attract people to use these systems. Therefore, environmental pollutions caused by fumes spread across the country and the length of travels even will be reduced. To conclude, although developing roads could be considered as a solution to congestion problem, pricing roads and fuel, add on providing high quality transportation system may have considered as more efficient solutions, especially in crowded cities.