Does Social Media Violate Our Privacy?

Social Media is indisputably one of the best avenues for communication. With just a single click on the search bar, you can easily find long-lost friends and relatives you haven’t met in years. You can share achievements, hold conversations, and see each other through videocalls and images. Social Media provided a better to stay connected and build connections with people halfway across the globe. But while it produced favorable and beneficial results, we can’t help but wonder what happens behind closed doors when all our stored data are just laid out in the public. Data privacy and violation have become an alarming concern over recent years as the information shared on social media, becomes compromised. It poses a greater risk as users become susceptible and vulnerable to cyberattacks and data breaches. Cases of identity theft, leaking of personal information have risen over the years, and the most common among them is gaining access to personal information by tracking our activities to steal data, for profit. From this, they create targeted ads to promote their products and merchandise from the very sensitive data taken from your private email and messages. Internet and social media is a very dark place, so let’s always be mindful of what we share and post publicly. Let’s further protect ourselves from harmful attacks by not sharing sensitive information online.