does increasing the price of petrol help decrease pollution and traffic

Since the twentieth century, the world has developed rapidly technoligcally. Entire industries have tranformed thoughout the decades, from the transport industry and even the agricultural indistry. This rapid change has largely been facilatated by the petroleum industry and the energy and products petroleum produces. As a consequence, the amount of pollution produced has also increased at an exponential rate. Along with this, the amount of traffic has also increased exponantially simply becuase todays transport insudstry uses petroleum to provide energy. This begs the question, would increasing the price of petroleum be a deterrent to both pollution and traffic? Thus being a viable method to combat these growing problems. Simple supply and demand would lead us to believe that increasing the price petroleum would lead to think that the demand of petroleum would fall and would thus in turn decrease the amount of pollution produced but it's use, aswell as decrease the amount of traffic nd most poeple would be dettered from buying petrol. This is is true, however, most economists tend to disagree. According to an economics study conducted by American petrolium board, as petroleum is a necessity, demanad may decrease with increasing the price, but it may not in turn decrease the amount of pollution and traffic by a sustantial amount because at the end of of the day, people still need to get to work, and home. Thus increasing price may not be the best method to decrease pollution and traffic. The argument that increasing the price of petrol will help adress the growing pollution problem is a reasnable one, but many scientests and enviornmentalists tend to disagree. Although petrol is reponsible for a large amount of pollution, the vast majority of pollution is still caused by the fossil fuel energy as a whole. This includes coal. Other sources of pollution such as Methane produced by farm animals also contribute a large amount. Beucase of these other sources, incresing the price of petrol may not necessarily decrease pollution as a whole beucause of all these different sources, as at the end of the day, it does'nt solve the underlying issue of using clean energy rather than fossil fuels. Increasing the price of petrol may help decrease the amount of traffic on the road. When the price of a certain product increases, people tend to get fed up and find alternatives. In this case, people will start car pooling or using public transport. Some may start to walk to work, or even move entirely to be closer to the places they have to go on a daily basis. Thus increasing the price of petrol can infact help decrease the amount of traffic present. In conclusion, though increasing the price of petrol may help encourge people to find alternatives such as public transport or walking, and thus inturn decrease traffic. The problem of pollution is not adressed, this is because petroleum is still a necessity and alternative sources of clean energy has not been developed to the point of solving the problems of todays society.