does art gives our lives meaning or is it a distraction from real. how do you feel about it

Art remained a prevalent way of expression of thoughts and ideas throughout the history of man. Nevertheless, the function of art is an unsettled debate with some believing that it is a temporary mean to hide from cruel surrounding realities whilst others argue that it is imparting true spirit in mortal lives. My own belief is that every form of art is fundamental to what makes us humans. To initiate with, sharing the feelings of pleasure, worries and insecurities is a characteristic which distinguish human from all other creatures and art is a way to display these insights. Our senses enable us to perceive meanings from other’s paintings, sculptures and models. Thus, humans can connect through art without understanding others spoken language. Furthermore, art can serve the purpose of connecting to our forefathers and learn their approach to life. Young generation can deduce traditional values and cultural beliefs from historical art abstracts and illustrations. Contrary to this, some believe that art is a momentary escape from realities and do not have real implications. One major role of art in uplifting man’s spirit can be seen in the songs of slaves which is an example how music provides an emotional serene to cope with pain. Similarly, a report published in New York Time demonstrated how colored paintings and abstract art along with spiritual songs are being used in psychiatric wards to treat the depressed patients. To summarize, art is something that has been a part of our lives throughout the revolutionary process, from cave to modern life and helps people to exist in difficult times. Thus, it is not only for entertainment but a defining feature of human being.