Do zoo help or harm animal?

There are numerous reasons why wild animals shouldn’t be in the zoos. Animals are kept in small captivities which can effect their mental and physical health. They don’t benefit most endangered animals but do more harm. Zoos provide very little shelter for animals with artificial nature. It is harder to replicate the natural environment in zoos. Thesis mainly because wild animals roam larger distances. Due to limited space, they don’t get to fulfill their nature of hunting. Living in enclosures can also effect their mental health. Many show signs of depression, stress and behavioral problems. Some animals also harm themselves, for instance pulling their hair, drinking urine etc. Some may argue that zoo are saving endangered animals, but it works for certain species. Most carnivores bred in captivity die when released into wild. Furthermore, 82% of the animals in zoos aren’t endangered. This shows that zoos are mainly for human entertainment and money. Animals deserve to live a life with freedom. Zoos are harming animals mentally and physically. We should know that it is not okay to mistreat animals.