Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology has enabled us to connect throughout the world using advanced communicational devices and social networking. Today there is a plethora of internet sites that connect people and collect information in the form of profiles. Needless to say, this poses a potential threat as fraudsters can use it against us. In my opinion, the pros of social media definitely outweigh the cons if used responsibly. Some years back people had to rely on limited resources to connect to loved ones or for conducting business. With the advancement in technology, today we can connect and share information with ease. Video’s conferencing facilitates an audio-video experience which is used for casual or formal means of communication. Today we have the luxury of sitting at home and ordering our groceries or shopping for clothes. In addition, there are sites that connect people of similar interests where one can share photos or post some information. For instance, we can create an account on Facebook and start connecting with people instantly. On the other hand, the personal information of individuals is readily available on the internet and can be exploited against anyone. People are so addicted that they post all their information on social sites which can prove to be dangerous. There has been a lot of instances where people have posted their current location using the check-in feature indicating there is no one at home. This information is used by criminals to break into houses and steal. In conclusion, social media is a strong tool which should be used responsibly. All inventions have their advantages and disadvantages, it is up to an individual to use it wisely and make optimum benefit.