Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared to living in an apartment?

Now days, there is an increasing trend in people shifting to the outskirts of the cities to live in the apartments. However, a number of people prefer to live in a house while others feel there are more benefits living in an apartment. This essay illustrates the advantages of living in a house compared to living in an apartment. Apartments are modern days houses equipped with all sorts of facilities and luxuries for our daily living. However, there are a plethora of limitations about living in the flats. Firstly, in apartments, people are less social and mostly confined to themselves. Social meetings and get-togethers are rare phenomenon in apartments. Another drawback is flats are already constructed by the builders; it leaves a person with a extremely limited choice in terms of design, size and architecture. On the other hand, there are houses. A person can build his house according to his choice in terms of size, pattern and various amenities. A person can have a garden, his own parking space and can even own a pet. Unlike apartments, that are mainly located at the outskirts of the city, a house can be built in the heart of the city where all the facilities are easily accessible. For example, a person can personalise his house with the insights of his own reflection and can have certain facilities according to his requirement. Another huge advantage of living in a house is good social relations. People living in houses are more likely to get involve in social celebrations especially on festivities. They develop a good camaraderie with each other and even have lasting relations with the neighbours. To conclude, we can say that living in a house of one’s own choice is a dream of every person and to club that with a healthy social life is a cherry on the cake. Although apartments provide all the necessary facilities on the contrary the advantages of living in a house certainly outnumbers the merits of living in the flats.