Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared to living in an apartment?

Now days, there is an increasing trend in people shifting to the outskirts of the cities to live in the apartments. However, some people prefer to live in a house while others feel there are more benefits living in an apartment. This essay illustrates the advantages of living in a house compared to living in an apartment. Apartments are modern days houses equipped with all sorts of facilities and luxuries for our daily living. However, there are many limitations about living in the flats. Firstly, in apartments, people are less social and mostly confined to themselves. Social meetings and get-togethers are rare phenomenon in apartments. Another drawback is flats are already constructed by the builders; it leaves a person with a very limited choice in terms of design, size and architecture. On the other hand, there are houses. A person can build his house according to his choice in terms of size, pattern and different amenities. A person can have a garden, his own parking space and can even own a pet. Unlike apartments, that are mainly located at the outskirts of the city, a house can be built in the heart of the city where all the facilities are easily accessible. For example, a person can personalise his house with the insights of his own reflection and can have certain facilities according to his requirement. Another big advantage of living in a house is good social relations. People living in houses are more likely to get involve in social celebrations especially on festivities. They develop a good camaraderie with each other and even have lasting relations with the neighbours. To conclude, we can say that living in a house of one’s own choice is a dream of every person and to club that with a healthy social life is a cherry on the cake. Although apartments provide all the necessary facilities but the advantages of living in a house certainly outnumbers the merits of living in the flats.