Do you think that people sometimes join a movement or trend because they are afraid of not being part of the in-crowd? Can you think of some examples?

Owning to the rapid advancement of technology, it is becoming easier for individuals to keep up with all the popular trends, thus, some believe that people follow a trend out of fear of being different from others. From my experience, I advocate this idea due to some following reasons. Firstly, humans are sociable, which explains why people have the tendency to follow others to take part in a movement. As trends signify the preferences and our lives depend on our ability to band together, people are affected by the social influence, which leads to the desire to fit in with the crowd and gain approval from others. In particular, while voting in an election, people are more likely to vote for the candidate who has the best chance of winning even if they do not know much about him. This also implies that if the majority does something, they will assume it is correct and continue to follow the trend. Secondly, the fact of not being part of the in-crowd genuinely produces true dread to certain individuals. Without a doubt, not following the trend is frequently considered as being distinct from others. As a consequence, people must confront the reality of being outdated or even worse, being abandoned by others. This issue is readily apparent in the fashion industry, where failure to keep up with other designers or stylists may swiftly lead to dismissal. In conclusion, the fear of not belonging to the in-crowd may account for people joining a movement, which has its own pros and cons. The key to this problem is that individuals have to look into the trend conscientiously and determine whether or not to follow it.