Do you think that collaboration with your classmates help to improve your writing skills effectively?

For the past decades, educators have recognized the value of learning collaboratively. Educators are well aware that students who learn individually will not absorb knowledge well. In fact, students must overcome isolation in order to learn to write. Therefore, I totally agree that working together in a group will improve writing skills effectively because this increases your understandings of a subject or lesson and helps each other to improve writing skills better. The main reason why I believe collaborating with classmates help to improve your writing skills effectively is because it will help each student himself increase your understanding of the subject or a lesson about writing skills quickly. When teachers assign writing assignments, students discuss in groups to answer each other's questions, dividing the work to complete the work together faster. Pham (2021) argued that instructors or researchers commonly utilized collaborative/cooperative learning activities in academic writing programs to enable students to brainstorm ideas and create an outline to help one another in writing (p. 1). In addition, in 2003, Al-Ahmad concluded that every student participates actively in studying, learning from, and sharing information with their classmates (p. 9). Through the above studies, learning to write and doing writing exercises with companions will help students learn faster than working alone. Another reason why I support the notion that collaborating with classmates help to improve your writing skills effectively is due to the fact that this helps each other to improve writing skills better. Each of us has strengths and weaknesses in a certain writing skill, so studying in groups will make each member supplement their knowledge and improve their writing skills together. Ferris (1994), as cited in Aminloo (2013) said that student writers' flaws include insufficient substance, poor organization, and stylistic inconsistency, therefore it is expected that students would be able to enhance their writing skills by working in groups (p. 802-803). Topping et al. (1998), as cited in Pham et al. (2014), they stated that collaboration learning, in which peer groups cooperate to verify assignment ideas, enhance social skills, and improve writing by pushing students to rewrite and enhancing audience awareness, may be used to address difficulty (p. 12). For example, when students learn to write, working in groups helps each person to know their mistakes and correct them effectively. Therefore, group work will help to improve each student's writing skills better. Opponents of working together in a group will improve writing skills said that although it has brought many benefits, but it also has many problems such as many members not participating in group activities. As Burke (2011) mentioned that some of the most urgent challenges that face group are members who place an excessive amount of trust in others to perform responsibilities (p. 88). If you want to learn to write well and complete the writing lesson as desired, each individual must voluntarily complete the assigned work. Smith (1996) argued that cooperative learning is people working together in a group to achieve a common objective under conditions that include positive interdependence as well as individual and group accountability (p. 71). However, as noted above, teamwork will bring a lot of good results for students as they learn to write. Therefore, it is impossible for a small influence to negate the good that it brings. In my opinion, collaboration with peers helps pupils improve their writing skills more efficiently because improve your knowledge of a subject or lesson and it help each other enhance our writing abilities. I believe that, with cooperation with classmates, it will one day help students learn more writing skills and academically will improve.