key factors in a child's development

It is argued by some that these days the factors that play a big role in a child’s development are media, pop culture and their friends, while others state that family is the key factor regarding this part of a kid’s life. According to my opinion, both viewpoints contain important ideas, however I think the mentioned factors play a different role in the formation of a child’s personality and behavior. On the one hand, media, pop culture and friends can extremely influence a child and in most cases, they determine how kids will see themselves compared to others, however these factors can usually reach out to someone after kindergarten, therefore it can hardly affect what their family has previously taught them. Unfortunately, in the case of teenagers, media plays an enormous role in forming their ideals and how they see the world. Due to the unrealistic standards that movies and social platforms present, some may feel that they are not enough and start to suffer from some kind of a mental illness, like body dysmorphia, severe anxiety or even depression On the other hand, family usually affects another segment of a child’s basic development. It determines basic behavior, attitude towards other people, can teach the value of commitment and responsibility, furthermore parents can be a positive or a negative role model for their child. If one’s parents show a good example from a very young age, there is only a slight chance, that later in life media and pop culture will affect the basics of their value system. To conclude, the way I see it, media, pop culture and friends play almost as significant role in a child’s development process as their family do, however without a stable and healthy family environment, other factors can drastically influence a kid in negative way, therefore I think family is the key factor in the given question.