Do you think students today are more interested in politics than they were in the past? wnmod

There's no denying that politics do play a major role in our daily life whether people aware it or not. Some people argue that students today pay little attention than those in the past, while others contend otherwise. From my point of view, I maintain that students are more interested in politics than those in the past that students are often participating in street demonstrations regarding government policies. I will attempt to elaborate my opinions in the following paragraphs. First of all, thanks to the improvement of technology, the most significant difference between then and today is instant news. Students today are exposed to more information from more sources than ever before in history. The baby boomer generation didn't have internet, cell phones, or cable television. The big three networks delivered the news, newspapers were your daily source of information. Today there are thousands of sources of news from every political perspective, which help student to be more aware of politic issue that cover so wind from health care regulation to referendum. Another possible reason is the rise of social media. We are in the information explosion and the internet world. That caused expanded communication without geographical restrictions, and access to the opinion from all around the world. Knowing each other opposite statement can force us to think and criticize their pros and cons. What accounts for still another reason of those who are still in school more concern about government affairs than those did before is globalization. As I mention before, since the country gap between nations has fade, we are now living in a global village. People are interconnected with each so tide that we have to study and search the subject that people might not care before. Take united president election for instance, the candidates’ opinion plays an important role to cross-strait issue that we have to pay notice which may hardly being imagine in the past that people care about policy regarding other countries. Last but not least, because of the advance of democracy and the change of social and educational atmosphere. People today have more freedom to express their feeling and thought concerning political issues than the period when people being under martial law. Participation in politics is encouraged and plenty of student movements such as sunflower movement came out. For reasons mentioned above, I am more than convinced that students are more willing to participate in politics than those in the past.