DO YOU THINK PROFESSIONAL ATHLETES RECEIVE TOO MUCH MONEY? WHY AND WHY NOT? dknyo

It is sometimes argued that professional athletes receive too much money because they are super-heros and more talented than all of us. Personally, I completely agree with this view. For a variety of reasons, they deserve every penny they make. Becoming a professional athlete requires hard work, dedication and sacrifice. Firstly, they have to be in training for physical strength, skills, and agility. It takes longer to train an athlete than to train people in other jobs. Many sports require athletes to get used to them very early, gymnastics being a prime example. The stories about girls and boys in the first generation of gymnastics, who were only 5-6 years old, had to leave home and come to another country to take part in training courses for decades. Secondly, athletes make many sacrifices for the work they do. They risk being injured. In general, the more contact in a sport, the greater the risk of a traumatic injury. Participation in a sport requires maintaining proper nutrition, though, can undermine a host of popular social activities. Athletes may not be able to drink alcohol with their friends the night before a game. Athletes need plenty of rest and a healthy diet to be at peak performance. This means athletes may have to forego late-night parties and stay away from sweets. Despite the fact that professional athletes receive too much, their careers don't usually last as long time as other people's. They can only earn big salaries for a very short time and many of them retire at the age of thirty.